Långbron lock, Dalsland Canal

Långbron, or ‘Long Bridge’ gets its name from the picturesque stone arch bridge built in 1838 that crosses the Upperud River. Today, it is probably most accurate to call Långbron a part of Dals Långed – the northernmost section of the rather elongated urban area.

The Långbron lock is a single lock with a height difference of 0.3 m. There is a mast crane at the waiting jetty south of the lock. North of the lock, a road bridge and a railway bridge (bascule bridges) cross the canal. The lock keeper has limited visibility of boats arriving from the north due to the bridges. Moor at the waiting jetty at the railway bridge and contact the lock keeper. 

Some history

Långbron, or ‘Long Bridge’ gets its name from the picturesque stone arch bridge built in 1838 that crosses the Upperud River. Today, it is probably most accurate to call Långbron a part of Dals Långed – the northernmost section of the rather elongated urban area. 

A level difference of only 30 centimetres makes the lock one of the lowest in the canal system. It leads boat traffic between Långsbrohöljen and Laxsjön. 

About three kilometres north of Långbron is Baldersnäs, a splendid manor house dating back to the 18th  century. Here once lived one of the canal’s foremost supporters, Carl Fredrik Waern. During his time, a magnificent English park was built, with numerous different species of trees, several gazebos, artificial caves and islands. Today, the park is a nature reserve.

In Långbron is an old laundry house that, thanks to furniture designer and Steneby student Josha Woudstra, has been transformed into a quite unique museum.

Facts

Lock chambers: 1
Elevation: 0,3 m
Passing: 15 minutes

 

Contact

Nils Ericsons väg 1, Upperud
46472, Håverud